Kansas City Chiefs

Click to see players for the: 

The Kansas City Chiefs are a professional football team based in Kansas City, Missouri. The Chiefs compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the league's American Football Conference (AFC) West division. The team was founded in 1960 as the Dallas Texans by businessman Lamar Hunt, and was a charter member of the American Football League (AFL). In 1963, the team relocated to Kansas City and assumed their current name. The Chiefs joined the NFL in the 1970 AFL–NFL merger. The team is valued at just under $1 billion.

The Chiefs won three AFL championships, in 1962, 1966 and 1969, and became the second AFL team (after the New York Jets) to defeat an NFL team in an AFL–NFL World Championship Game when they defeated the Minnesota Vikings in Super Bowl IV. The team's victory on January 11, 1970, remains the club's last championship game victory and appearance, and occurred in the final such competition prior to the leagues' merger coming into full effect. The Chiefs were also the second team, after the Green Bay Packers, to appear in more than one Super Bowl, and the first to appear in the championship game in two different decades. In the 2015 AFC Wild-Card playoff game, held at NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas on January 9, 2016, the Chiefs defeated the Houston Texans 30–0 to earn their first NFL playoff win in 23 seasons, dating back to the 1993–94 NFL playoffs. The Chiefs' Wild-Card playoff victory ended what was at the time the third-longest drought in the NFL, and it also ended an NFL record eight-game playoff losing streak.

Home Venue: 
Arrowhead Stadium

AFL Champions 1962, 1966, 1969

AFL-NFL Super Bowl (IV) Champion 1969


Kansas City Chiefs
The University Of Kansas Hospital Training Complex
One Arrowhead Drive
Kansas City, MO 64129

Recent comments


How old are you?