Chicago Cubs

The Chicago Cubs are located on the North Side of Chicago, Illinois. They are members of the National League Central division in Major League Baseball. The club played its first games in 1870 as the Chicago White Stockings, before officially becoming the Chicago Cubs for the 1903 season. The Cubs are the oldest currently active U.S. professional sports club, continuously existing in the same city for their entire history. They are one of the two remaining charter members of the National League. The other team is the Atlanta Braves.

In 1906, the franchise recorded a Major League Baseball record 116 wins (tied by the 2001 Seattle Mariners) and posted a modern-era record winning percentage of .763, still held today. They appeared in their first World Series the same year, falling to their crosstown rivals, the White Sox, four games to two. The Cubs won back-to-back World Series championships in 1907 and 1908, becoming the first Major League club to play in three consecutive Fall Classics, and the first to win it twice. The club has appeared in seven World Series following their 1908 title, most recently in 1945. The Cubs have not won the World Series in 106 years, the longest championship drought of any major North American professional sports team, and are often referred to as the "Lovable Losers" because of this distinction.

The Cubs have a major rivalry with the St. Louis Cardinals and is currently owned by Thomas S. Ricketts, son of TD Ameritrade founder Joe Ricketts.

Home Venue: 
Wrigley Field

World Series - 1908, 1907, 1885, 1882

NL Pennants - 1945, 1938, 1935, 1932, 1929, 1918, 1910, 1908, 1907, 1906, 1886, 1885, 1882,1881, 1880, 1876

Central Division Title - 2008, 2007, 2003

East Division Title - 1989, 1984


1060 W Addison St
Chicago, IL 60613

Recent comments


How old are you?