Boston Red Sox

Click to see players for the: 

The Boston Red Sox are a baseball team based in Boston, MA and are members of the East Division of the American League. The Red Sox have won 8 World Series out of 12. Founded in 1901 as one of the American League's eight charter franchises, the Red Sox's home ballpark has been Fenway Park since 1912. The "Red Sox" name was chosen by the team owner, John I. Taylor, around 1908, following previous Boston teams that had been known as the "Red Stockings".

Boston was a dominant team in the new league,a defeating the Pittsburgh Pirates in the first World Series in 1903 and winning four more championships by 1918. However, they went into one of the longest championship droughts in baseball history, called by some the "Curse of the Bambino" after its alleged beginning with the Red Sox's sale of Babe Ruth to the rival New York Yankees two years after their world championship in 1918. It was an 86-year wait before the team's sixth World Championship in 2004. They won again in 2007, and following their recent victory in the 2013 World Series, they became the first, and so far, only team to win three World Series trophies in the 21st century. Red Sox history has also been marked by the team's intense rivalry with the Yankees, arguably the fiercest and most historic in North American professional sports.

Home Venue: 
Fenway Park

World Series 2013, 2007, 2004, 1918, 1916, 1915, 1912, 1903

AL Pennants 2013, 2007, 2004, 1986, 1975, 1967, 1946, 1918, 1916 ,1915 ,1912 ,1904 ,1903

East Division titles 2013, 2007, 1995, 1990, 1988, 1986, 1975

Wild Card berths 2009, 2008, 2005, 2004, 2003, 1999, 1998


Boston Red Sox
4 Yawkey Way
Boston, MA 02215-3496

Recent comments


How old are you?