Atlanta Braves

The Atlanta Braves are a member of the Eastern Division of Major League Baseball's National League and play their home games at Turner Field in Atlanta since 1997. The "Braves" name, which was first used in 1912, originates from a term for a Native American warrior. They are nicknamed "the Bravos", and often referred to as "America's Team" in reference to the team's games being broadcast on the nationally available TBS from the 1970s until 2007, gaining a wide fanbase.

From 1991 to 2005 the Braves were one of the most successful franchises in baseball, winning division titles an unprecedented 14 consecutive times in that period (not including the strike-shortened 1994 season in which there were no official division champions). The Braves are the only Major League Baseball franchise to have won the World Series in three different home cities.

The club is one of the National League's two remaining charter franchises (the other being the Chicago Cubs) and was founded in Boston, Massachusetts, in 1871 as the Boston Red Stockings (not to be confused with the American League's Boston Red Sox). They are considered the oldest continuously playing team in major North American sports. After various name changes, the team eventually began operating as the Boston Braves, which lasted for most of the first half of the 20th century. Then, in 1953, the team moved to Milwaukee, Wisconsin where they became the Milwaukee Braves, followed by the final move to Atlanta in 1966.

Home Venue: 
Turner Field

World Series Titles 1995, 1957, 1914

17 National League Pennants

11 East Division Titles

2 Wild Card Berths


Turner Field
755 Hank Aaron Dr SW
Atlanta, GA 30315

Recent comments


How old are you?