West Virginia Mountaineers

The West Virginia Mountaineers come from West Virginia University in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision. Dana Holgorsen is WVU's current head coach, the 33rd in the program's history. West Virginia plays its home games on Mountaineer Field at Milan Puskar Stadium on the campus of West Virginia University in Morgantown, West Virginia. The Mountaineers compete in the Big 12 Conference.

With a 712–471–45 record, WVU ranks 14th in victories among NCAA FBS programs, as well as the most victories among those programs that never won a National Championship. West Virginia was originally classified as a College Division school in the 1937 season, becoming a University Division school from 1939–72. WVU received Division I classification in 1973, becoming a Division I-A program from 1978–2006 and an FBS program from 2006 to the present.

The Mountaineers have had 80 winning seasons in their history, including one unbeaten season (10–0–1) in 1922 and five 11-win seasons in 1988, 1993, 2005, 2006 and 2007. The Mountaineers have won a total of 15 conference championships, including eight Southern Conference titles and seven Big East Conference titles.

"The Backyard Brawl" with the Pitt Panthers is West Virginia's fiercest and most storied rivalry. Separated by only 70 miles, the two universities have competed on a mostly annual basis since 1895, arguably generating some of the most exciting and memorable games in college football history.

Home Venue: 
Milan Puskar Stadium Mountaineer Field

SoCon Conference Title: 1953, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1958, 1964, 1965, 1967

Big East Conference Title: 1993, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2010, 2011


507 Burroughs Street, Suite 112
Morgantown, WV 26505

Recent comments


How old are you?