Ohio State Buckeyes Football

Click to see players for the: 

The Ohio State Buckeyes football team is a collegiate football team that competes as part of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Football Bowl Subdivision, representing Ohio State University in the East Division of the Big Ten Conference. Ohio State has played their home games at Ohio Stadium in Columbus, Ohio since 1922.

The Buckeyes have claimed seven national championships along with 36 conference championships and ten undefeated seasons (including six perfect seasons of having no losses or ties).

Football was introduced to the university by George Cole and Alexander S. Lilley in 1890. Ohio State was a football independent from 1890 to 1901 before joining the Ohio Athletic Conference (OAC) as a charter member in 1902. The Buckeyes won two conference championships while members of the OAC and in 1912 became members of the Big Ten Conference.

Ohio State won their first national championship in 1942 under head coach Paul Brown.

Following World War II, Ohio State saw sparse success on the football field with three separate coaches and in 1951 hired Woody Hayes to coach the team. Under Hayes, Ohio State won 13 Big Ten championships and five national championships (1954, 1957, 1961, 1968 and 1970), and had four Rose Bowl wins in eight appearances. Following Hayes' dismissal in 1978, Earle Bruce and later John Cooper coached the team to seven conference championships.

Jim Tressel was hired as head coach in 2001 and led Ohio State to its seventh national championship in 2002 with a win in the Fiesta Bowl. Ohio State won seven Big Ten championships under Tressel and appeared in eight Bowl Championship Series (BCS) games, winning five of them. Through the 2013 season, Ohio State has compiled an official overall record of 837 wins, 318 losses, and 53 ties and has appeared in 43 bowl games, with the most recent being the 2014 Orange Bowl.

On November 28, 2011, two-time National Championship winning coach and Ohio native Urban Meyer became head coach.

Home Venue: 
Ohio Stadium

1942 - AP National Champions

1954 - AP National Champions

1957 - Football Writers Assoc. of America and UPI National Champions

1961 - Football Writers Assoc. of America National Champions

1968 - AP and Various Polls National Champions

1970 - National Football Foundation National Champions

2002 - AP and Various Polls National Champions - Won BCS Championship Game


Ohio State Buckeyes Football
Woody Hayes Athletic Center
2491 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH 43210

Recent comments


How old are you?